Home » Cricket » News »Preview: IPL 2015 Match 50: Kings XI Punjab Vs Royal Challengers Bangalore

Preview: IPL 2015 Match 50: Kings XI Punjab Vs Royal Challengers Bangalore

Posted By: PTI

Mohali, May 12: With eyes firmly set on a play-off berth, Royals Challengers Bangalore will start as overwhelming favourites against bottom-placed Kings XI Punjab in an Indian Premier League cricket match here tomorrow. ('Best', 'incredible' quotes on AB de Villiers)

IPL Special; Points Table; Fixtures; Photos

RCB would settle for nothing less than a win tomorrow which will not only enable them get past fourth-place Rajasthan Royals but also give a boost to their chances of progressing to the play-off stage.

Can KXIP stop AB de Villiers?

RCB is presently lying at the fifth spot with 13 points from 11 games, while Kings XI are out of play-off reckoning with just four points 12 matches.

Having thrashed Kings XI by a huge 138-run margin in their previous meeting in Bangalore, RCB would definitely fancy their chances against the struggling hosts.

A star-studded RCB have strong a batting line up in the form of dangerous Chris Gayle, AB de Villiers and skipper Virat Kohli. RCB has two batsmen in top five highest run getters list in De Villiers (436 runs) and Kohli (417).

Gayle too is not far behind and is seventh in the chart, amassing 370 runs. In fact, besides Chennai Super Kings' Brendon McCullum Gayle and De Villiers are the only other two batsmen to have struck centuries in the ongoing edition of the tournament.

While Gayle smashed 117 off just 57 balls against Kings XI in their previous meeting, De Villiers clobbered Mumbai Indians bowlers to all parts of the ground to score an unbeaten 133 off just 59 balls in RCB's 39-run win on Sunday. And going by the form of RCB's batsmen, things look ominous for Kings XI tomorrow.


Kings XI Punjab: George Bailey (captain), Axar Patel, Anureet Singh, Beuran Hendricks, David Miller, Glenn Maxwell, Gurkeerat Mann Singh, Karanveer Singh, Manan Vohra, Mitchell Johnson, Parvinder Awana, Rishi Dhawan, Sandeep Sharma, Shardul Thakur, Shaun Marsh, Shivam Sharma, Thisara Perera, Virender Sehwag, Wriddhiman Saha (wicketkeeper), Murali Vijay, Nikhil Naik, Yogesh Golwalkar.

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli (captain), AB de Villiers, Chris Gayle, Mitchell Starc, Nic Maddinson, Varun Aaron, Ashok Dinda, Harshal Patel, Vijay Zol, Abu Nechim, Sandeep Warrier, Yogesh Takawale, Yuzvendra Chahal, Rilee Rossouw, Iqbal Abdulla, Manvinder Bisla, Mandeep Singh, Dinesh Karthik (wicketkeeper), Subramaniam Badrinath, Darren Sammy, Sean Abbott, David Wiese, Sarfaraz Khan, Jalaj Saxena, Shishir Bhavane, Sreenath Arvind.

Match starts 8 PM IST


Story first published: Tuesday, May 12, 2015, 11:25 [IST]
Other articles published on May 12, 2015
Please Wait while comments are loading...