India Vs Sri Lanka: Did Upul Tharanga win the toss in one-off T20I, and not Virat Kohli?

Posted By:
India Vs Sri Lanka: Did Upul Tharanga win the toss in one-off T20I, and not Virat Kohli?

New Delhi, Sep 7: Skipper Virat Kohli inspired Team India to another comprehensive victory against Sri Lanka in the one-off Twenty20 encounter on Wednesday (September 6) in Colombo.

Leading from the front, Kohli played a fluent knock of 54-ball 82 as India chased down a target of 171 for the loss of three wickets. 'Chase master' Kohli looked in sublime form and continued from where he left in the one-dayers against the hosts.

Kohli won the toss and elected to chase after rain and wet outfield forced a delayed start. But a major blunder perhaps went unnoticed during the toss due to a miscommunication between match referee and official commentator.

Lanka skipper Upul Tharanga had actually won the coin toss as Kohli called for 'heads' and the coin rolled away and landed in Sri Lankan's favour. The video of the toss showed match referee Andy Pycroft getting visibly confused after official commentator Murali Karthik misread him and claimed Kohli as the winner.

Karthik proceeded towards Kohli and asked what he's going to do; whereas, in reality, it was Tharanga who won the toss, at least the match referee's reaction revealed so.

But a question also arises why didn't the match referee called for another toss if the commentator misread him?

Kohli invited the hosts to bat first and the home team batted well and posted a decent 170 runs on the board in 20 overs, but the target proved too easy in front of a solid Indian batting line-up.

Kohli and Manish Pandey (51*) put up a partnership of 119 runs for the third wicket as India won the match by seven wickets. One wonders what could have been the result had Tharanga taken a call after winning the toss.

Story first published: Thursday, September 7, 2017, 12:39 [IST]
Other articles published on Sep 7, 2017
Please Wait while comments are loading...
POLLS