Home » Cricket » News »Virat Kohli named captain of World T20 Team Of The Tournament

Virat Kohli named captain of World T20 Team Of The Tournament

Posted By:

Bengaluru, April 4: India's star batsman Virat Kohli was today (April 4) named as the captain of the ICC World Twenty20 Team Of The Tournament. Kohli had also won the "Player of the tournament" award last night (April 3).

World T20 Special Site; Final match report; Photos

Kohli was India's hero (273 runs, 1 wicket) during the campaign which ended at the semi-final, losing to eventual champions West Indies. On Sunday night, the Caribbean side defeated England by 4 wickets to create history. They are the first team to win the World T20 title twice. (Kohli feels 'proud' to get WT20 award)

Virat Kohli named captain of World T20 team of the tournament. He is seen here celebrating his half century against Pakistan in Kolkata at World T20

"The teams were chosen by a select group of former cricket stars and highly respected commentators who were given the task of picking a balanced side for all conditions on the basis of performances in the tournament. Statistics were used but were not the sole basis for selections," ICC said in a media release on Monday (April 4).

"The men's team, including 12th man, contained four players from England, two players each from India and the West Indies, and one each from Australia, Bangladesh, New Zealand and South Africa, while the women's team comprised four players from New Zealand, two players each from Australia, England and the West Indies, and one player each from Pakistan and South Africa," it added.

The experts chose Kohli as captain of the men's side while Stafanie Taylor of the West Indies was named to lead the women's line-up, ICC said.

Veteran left-arm paceman Ashish Nehra is the only other Indian in the 12-man team. South Africa's Quinton de Kock is the wicketkeeper.

Team of ICC World T20 (In batting order)

1. Jason Roy (England)

2. Quinton de Kock (South Africa, wicketkeeper)

3. Virat Kohli (India, captain)

4. Joe Root (England)

5. Jos Buttler (England)

6. Shane Watson (Australia)

7. Andre Russell (West Indies)

8. Mitchell Santner (New Zealand)

9. David Willey (England)

10. Samuel Badree (West Indies)

11. Ashish Nehra (India)

12th man. Mustafizur Rahman (Bangladesh)

Women's team of the tournament

Suzie Bates (New Zealand)

Charlotte Edwards (England)

Meg Lanning (Australia)

Stafanie Taylor (West Indies, captain)

Sophie Devine (New Zealand)

Rachel Priest (New Zealand, wicketkeeper)

Deandra Dottin (West Indies)

Megan Schutt (Australia)

Sune Luus (South Africa)

Leigh Kasperek (New Zealand)

Anya Shrubsole (England)

12th player. Anam Amin (Pakistan)

The selection panel that chose the ICC teams of World T20

Geoff Allardice (ICC General Manager - Cricket, Chairman)

Ian Bishop (former West Indies fast bowler)

Nasser Hussain (former England captain)

Mel Jones (former Australia women's batter)

Sanjay Manjrekar (former India batsman)

Lisa Sthalekar (former Australia women's all-rounder)

OneIndia News

Story first published: Monday, April 4, 2016, 15:42 [IST]
Other articles published on Apr 4, 2016
Please Wait while comments are loading...