Home » Cricket » News »World Twenty20 2016 trophy to tour 12 countries

World Twenty20 2016 trophy to tour 12 countries

Posted By:

Mumbai, Dec 12: The ICC World Twenty20 India 2016 trophy will embark on a 12-country tour from Mumbai on Sunday (December 13) before returning to New Delhi on February 1, 2016.

World T20 schedule

As part of the Nissan Trophy Tour, the trophy will visit 12 out of 16 countries taking part in the tournament which will be staged in India from 8 March to 3 April 2016. Hosts India are grouped with Pakistan in the tournament and they face off on March 19 in Dharamsala.

World T20 trophies

"During its journey, the trophy will be on display at domestic and international matches, as well as at various public places, which will enable the fans to capture a very special moment with the most prestigious silverware in the shortest format of the world game. Details of the trophy's public appearances will be announced by the host boards closer to the time," the International Cricket Council (ICC) said today.

ICC Chief Executive David Richardson said, "The Nissan Trophy Tour has been designed to not only promote the tournament but also to engage with our fans and provide them the first opportunity to get close to the trophy, which will be lifted by the winning captain on 3 April in Mumbai. We would like to thank Nissan for their sponsorship of the Trophy Tour and we are sure it will be a big success as it travels across the world ahead of the ICC World Twenty20 in India next year."

Roel de Vries, Nissan Corporate Vice President and global head of marketing and brand strategy, added: "We partnered with the ICC to bring cricket fans closer to the game. Fans feel exhilaration and passion when watching a cricket match. Those are the same emotions we want people to experience when driving a Nissan. We hope the Nissan Trophy Tour will build excitement around the world ahead of the WT20".

India will host World T20 for the first time. MS Dhoni-led side won the inaugural edition in 2007 in South Africa. The tournament in 2016 will be the 6th edition. No team has won the title more than once.

World T20 Trophy Tour schedule

13-14 December - Scotland

16-17 December - Ireland

20-21 December - England

22-23 December - Netherlands

2-3 January - Zimbabwe

5-7 January - South Africa

11-12 January - Pakistan

14-15 January - Bangladesh

17-18 January - Sri Lanka

21-24 January - New Zealand

26-31 January - Australia

1 February - arrival in New Delhi

OneIndia News

Story first published: Saturday, December 12, 2015, 15:06 [IST]
Other articles published on Dec 12, 2015
Please Wait while comments are loading...