Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X

PV Sindhu is TOISA Sportsperson of Year 2019, Rohit Sharma named cricketer of the year

PV Sindhu is TOISA Sportsperson of Year 2019, Rohit Sharma named cricketer of the year

New Delhi, March 6: World champion shuttler PV Sindhu was on Thursday (March 5) named Sportsperson of the Year while India's star batsman Rohit Sharma was named the cricketer of the year at the fourth Times of India Sports Awards (TOISA) 2019 here.

Rio Olympic silver medallist Sindhu, who won the world championship gold at Basel, Switzerland, last year also bagged the Unbreakable Spirit of Sports award.

India's limited-overs' vice-captain Rohit Sharma was named Cricketer of the Year for his phenomenal performance in the white-ball and red-ball cricket. The Mumbaikar slammed five centuries in the 2019 World Cup and was the leading run-getter of the tournament. He also started opening in the Tests in 2019 and made an immediate impact as he slammed back-to-back centuries in that Test match. Rohit also slammed a double century in Test match a couple of innings later.

Rohit wasn't present at the event and his India teammate Kuldeep Yadav collected the award on the Mumbaikar's behalf.

Former India football captain Bhaichung Bhutia was given the Lifetime Achievement award, while hockey legend and three-time Olympic gold medallist Balbir Singh Sr was honoured with the Icon of the Century award.

National badminton coach Pulella Gopichand won the Mentor of the Year award, while former shooter Jaspal Rana was recognised as the Coach of the Year.

The Olympic-bound Indian men's hockey was adjudged Team of the Year while the women's hockey side skipper Rani won the Inspiration of the Year award.

Young shooter Anish Bhanwala and women's hockey team forward Lalremsiami were selected for the Emerging Players of the Year awards.

Olympic medallist boxer Vijender Singh was adjudged as the Youth Icon of the Year.

India skipper Sunil Chhetri won the recognition in football.

Deepika Kumari and Abhishek Verma won the Archer of the Year in female and male categories respectively.

Sindhu bagged a hat-trick of awards when she was named as the Badminton Player of the Year in the female category, while B Sai Praneeth got the recognition among male shuttlers.

It was double delight for hockey skipper Rani who was adjudged women hockey player of the year while drag-flicker Harmanpreet won the recognition in the men's category.

Saurabh Chaudhary and Manu Bhaker won the Shooter of the Year in male and female categories respectively.

India's first world championship silver medallist pugilist Amit Phanghal won the recognition among male boxers while Lovlina Borgohain bagged the award among female boxers.

India's best Olympic medal hopes in wrestling, Bajrang Punia and Vinesh Phogat, were selected as the male and female grapplers of the year.

The TOISA recognition carries a beautiful trophy besides gift vouchers from Herbalife.

For Quick Alerts
Subscribe Now
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Story first published: Friday, March 6, 2020, 12:58 [IST]
Other articles published on Mar 6, 2020
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Mykhel sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Mykhel website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more