2nd T20I: All-round India thrash Zimbabwe by 10 wickets, level series 1-1

Posted By:

Harare, June 20: India rode on young seamer Barinder Sran's memorable debut performance to notch up a crushing 10-wicket victory over Zimbabwe in the second Twenty20 International and level the three-match series 1-1 here on Monday(June 20).

Match Scorecard; 1st T20 Match Report; India-Zimbabwe series schedule

Asked to bowl after the coin landed in favour of Zimbabwe skipper Graeme Cremer, a determined India restricted the hosts to 99 for nine in the stipulated 20 overs with Sran returning the best figures by an Indian debutant in T20 format, to lay the foundation at the Harare Sports Club.

2nd T20I: Sran, Bumrah fire as Team India come back strongly, Zimbabwe post 99/9

Mandeep Singh (52) and KL Rahul (47) then led the way with unbeaten knocks as the visitors chased down the target with 41 balls to spare. This was India's first 10-wicket win in this format.

(Barinder Sran finishes with best bowling figures for India on T20I debut)

Sran (4/10) was ably assisted by Jasprit Bumrah, who picked up three wickets for 11 runs in his quota of four overs. Sran finished with excellent figures in his quota of four overs, which is the second best globally.

Before Sran, Pragyan Ojha (4/21) against Bangladesh in 2009 World T20, held the Indian record. The duo of Sran and Bumrah picked up seven wickets between them while giving away just 21 runs in eight economical overs.

(India thump Zimbabwe by 10 wickets in 2nd T20I: Statistical highlights)

Owing to the pace duo's efforts, India staged a strong fightback after a shocking two-run loss in the opening T20 International of the three-match series at the same venue.

MS Dhoni arrives at the stadium

Bangladesh's Elias Sunny (5/13) holds the record for the best bowling figures by a debutant in T20 Internationals.

Chasing a meagre total, India were off to a flying start with openers Rahul and Mandeep hardly facing any trouble against a mediocre Zimbabwean bowling attack.

While Mandeep smashed six fours and a six, Rahul found the fence two times and also cleared it twice, as India made short work of the chase.

2nd T20I: Zimbabwe win toss, opt to bat first against India

Zimbabwe struggled not just with the bat and ball, but in the field too as Mandeep was dropped on 23.

As Mandeep pulled Chamu Chibhabha's short delivery straight to the deep square leg fielder, the ball bounced off his hands and landed on the other side of the rope for a six.

Playing XI:

India: MS Dhoni (C), KL Rahul, Mandeep Singh, Ambati Rayudu, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Axar Patel, Dhawal Kulkarni, Jasprit Bumrah, Barinder Sran, Yuzvendra Chahal.

Zimbabwe: Graeme Cremer (C), Chamu Chibhabha, Hamilton Masakadza, Sikandar Raza, Malcolm Waller, Elton Chigumbura, P Moor, Tinotenda Mutombodzi, Neville Madziva, Taurai Muzarabani and Donald Tiripano.

Match Starts at 4.30 PM IST

Channels: Ten HD1, Ten 2, Ten 3

IANS/OneIndia News

Story first published: Monday, June 20, 2016, 16:13 [IST]
Other articles published on Jun 20, 2016
Please Wait while comments are loading...