Home » Cricket » News »World T20: Semi-finals schedule, venues, squads

World T20: Semi-finals schedule, venues, squads

Posted By:

New Delhi, March 28: The ICC World Twenty20 tournament has reached the semi-final stage. Hosts India were the last team to make the cut after last night's (March 27) 6-wicket victory over Australia in Mohali. ('Kohli knock on par with Sachin's sandstorm 143')

World T20 Special Site; Photos; Points Table

The tournament, which began on March 8 with the qualifying round, saw 16 teams in action. Now we have left with 4. New Zealand are the only unbeaten team so far in the tournament. They won all their 4 league games in the Super 10 stage. The final is on April 3 (Sunday) in Kolkata. (Kohli breaks Gayle record)

India will play West Indies in World T20 semi-finals

Among the semi-finalists, barring New Zealand, all other 3 have won the title once. India took the trophy in the inaugural World T20 edition in 2007 in South Africa. England triumphed in 2010 while West Indies were 2012 champions.

Here is the World T20 semi-final schedule, venues, squads

10 facts about India-WI semis

March 30 (Wednesday) - 7 PM IST

Semi-final 1 - New Zealand (Group 2 Topper) Vs England (Group 1 2nd Placed Team) - New Delhi (Feroz Shah Kotla)

March 31 (Thursday) - 7 PM IST

Semi-final 2 - West Indies (Group 1 Topper) Vs India (Group 2 2nd Placed Team) - Mumbai (Wankhede Stadium)

FINAL on April 3 in Kolkata (7 PM IST) - Eden Gardens

All matches LIVE on Star Sports


New Zealand: Kane Williamson (captain), Corey Anderson, Trent Boult, Martin Guptill, Grant Elliott, Colin Munro, Mitchell McClenaghan, Nathan McCullum, Adam Milne, Henry Nicholls, Luke Ronchi (wicketkeeper), Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor.

England: Eoin Morgan (captain), Jason Roy, James Vince, Alex Hales, Joe Root, Moeen Ali, Jos Buttler (wicketkeeper), Ben Stokes, Sam Billings, David Willey, Liam Plunkett, Reece Topley, Chris Jordan, Adil Rashid, Liam Dawson.

West Indies: Darren Sammy (captain), Samuel Badree, Sulieman Benn, Dwayne Bravo, Andre Fletcher, Chris Gayle, Jason Holder, Denesh Ramdin (wicketkeeper), Andre Russell, Marlon Samuels, Jerome Taylor, Carlos Brathwaite, Ashley Nurse, Johnson Charles.

India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain and wicketkeeper), Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma, Yuvraj Singh, Ravichandran Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Shikhar Dhawan, Harbhajan Singh, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Pawan Negi, Ashish Nehra, Hardik Pandya, Ajinkya Rahane.

OneIndia News

Story first published: Monday, March 28, 2016, 10:45 [IST]
Other articles published on Mar 28, 2016
Please Wait while comments are loading...