Get breaking news alerts from myKhel

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X

India win maiden Test series in Australia: Twitterati hail Kohli & Co. for standing tall Down Under

India win maiden Test series in Australia: Twitterati hail Kohli & Co. for standing tall Down Under

Sydney, Jan 7: Rain played spoilsport and a bit of anti-climax as the fourth and final Test was abandoned due to bad weather but India won the series 2-1 in Sydney to claim their first-ever series win on the Australian soil here on Monday (January 7).

After the first session was washed out, the match officials finally decided to call off the game at Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) as Team India retained the Border Gavaskar Trophy Down Under to script history. Virat Kohli, thus, became the first Indian captain to lift the Border Gavaskar Trophy on the Australian soil.

India clinch series in Australia

India needed all 10 Australian wickets to win this match by an innings and wrap up the series 3-1 but a draw prevented them from getting a desirable result. A draw couldn't hamper the result of the series as the tourists had taken an unassailable 2-1 lead in Melbourne. India were likely to have won the Sydney Test as well, if not for rain, and would have wrapped up the series by a margin of 3-1. India completely deserved to be the better side for they dominated this series from the very first match.

More special than World Cup 2011 win: Virat Kohli on first test series win in Australia

After winning the opening Test in Adelaide, Kohli and his boys suffered a defeat in second at WACA but the way they came back to win the third one in Melbourne spoke volumes about the character of this side as they took an unassailable 2-1 lead.

Cheteshwar Pujara - who slammed mammoth 193 in the first innings - was awarded the Player of the match. Pujara who smashed three centuries and aggregated 521 runs at an average of 74 also got the Player of the Series trophy for his superb batting performance. Kuldeep Yadav (5-99), Ravindra Jadeja (81 runs and 2-73), and Rishabh Pant (159*) were the standout performers in the game that ended in a draw.

Here's how the cricketing fraternity and fans reacted on India's historic series win Down Under:

President of India:

Prime Minister of India:



Sachin Tendulkar:

Suresh Raina:

Tom Moody:

Harsha Bhogle:

Aakash Chopra:

Mohammed Kaif:

Glenn McGrath:

Harbhajan Singh:

Damien Fleming:

Michael Clarke:

Brydon Cloverdale:

Isa Guha:

Gautam Gambhir:

Rick Eyre:

Bishan Singh Bedi:

Cheteshwar Pujara:

KL Rahul:

Hardik Pandya:

For Quick Alerts
Subscribe Now
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

    Love Cricket? Prove it! Play myKhel Fantasy Cricket here

    Story first published: Monday, January 7, 2019, 11:25 [IST]
    Other articles published on Jan 7, 2019
    We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Mykhel sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Mykhel website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more