Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X

IPL 2018: RCB vs DD Preview: Playing 11s, Timings, Live Streaming & More

RCB will be eager to notch up a win against equally struggling Delhi Daredevils

Bengaluru, April 20: One team always promises big things in the run-up to every edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL). The other team always look up to the IPL with the hope of washing away the stains of a well below par previous season.


It's a recurring theme for Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) and Delhi Daredevils (DD) over the 11 IPL editions. Now, they will meet each other on Saturday (April 11) at the M Chinnaswamy stadium here.

A quick analysis of RCB and DD.

RCB, DD: The journey thus far

They have travelled on the same road in this IPL so far - four matches, one win, three defeats. RCB have a slightly better net run-rate at -0.861 compared to DD's 1.399.

What has hurt RCB?

Primarily their bowling. In the last two matches against Rajasthan Royals and Mumbai Indians, RCB had conceded more than 200 runs, putting their batsmen under pressure straightaway during the chase.

The form of skipper Virat Kohli (two 50s in the last two matches) might console RCB. But if your bowlers are conceding 200 runs, then it's tough for a single player (even if it's Kohli) to bail the team out every time.

South Africans AB de Villiers and Quinton de Kock are yet to fire while Brendon McCullum has had a dismal run so far, scoring just 47 runs from three matches.

The DD tale

The Daredevils have some big names in their squad but apart from Rishabh Pant and Jason Roy none of them have really joined the party in this IPL. Roy's 91 had propelled DD to a thrilling last ball win over Mumbai. But batsmen like Glenn Maxwell, captain Gautam Gambhir, Shreyas Iyer still weigh in with consistent runs.

They will be eager to be among big runs against RCB bowling line-up that has been underwhelming so far.


Total: 18 matches

RCB won: 12 matches

DD won: 6 matches

Teams (from): Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli (Captain), AB de Villiers, Sarfaraz Khan, Brendon McCullum, Chris Woakes, Colin de Grandhomme, Moeen Ali, Quinton de Kock, Umesh Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Manan Vohra, Kulwant Khejroliya, Aniket Choudhary, Navdeep Saini, Murugan Ashwin, Mandeep Singh, Washington Sundar, Pawan Negi, Mohammed Siraj, Parthiv Patel, Aniruddha Joshi, Pavan Deshpande, Tim Southee, Corey Anderson.

Delhi Daredevils: Shreyas Iyer, Chris Morris, Rishabh Pant, Glenn Maxwell, Gautam Gambhir (Captain), Jason Roy, Colin Munro, Mohammed Shami, Amit Mishra, Prithvi Shaw, Rahul Tewatia, Vijay Shankar, Harshal Patel, Avesh Khan, Shahbaz Nadeem, Daniel Christian, Jayant Yadav, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Trent Boult, Manjot Kalra, Abhishek Sharma, Sandeep Lamichhane, Naman Ojha, Sayan Ghosh, Liam Plunkett.


For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Love Cricket? Prove it! Play myKhel Fantasy Cricket here

Story first published: Friday, April 20, 2018, 17:46 [IST]
Other articles published on Apr 20, 2018
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Mykhel sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Mykhel website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more