Get breaking news alerts from myKhel

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X

UFC 235 results: Jones dominates Smith to retain; Usman dethrones Woodley

UFC 235 results: Jones dominates Smith to retain light heavyweight title at UFC 235 (Image Courtesy: Twitter)

Las Vegas, March 3: Despite being docked two points for an illegal knee, Jon Jones dominated Anthony Smith to retain the Light Heavyweight title in UFC 235: Jones vs. Smith event at the T-Mobile Arena in Las Vegas, Nevada on Saturday (March 2).

Smith managed to take Jones the distance in the main event of UFC 235, but was outworked by the champion, who didn't find the knock out he was looking for. In the end, the judges scored the fight with a trio of 48-44 in Jones' favour.

In the co-main event, Kamaru Usman outworked Tyron Woodley in all the five rounds to claim the UFC welterweight title with a couple of 50-44 scores and one judge scoring 50-45.

Meanwhile, in the main card opener, former UFC bantamweight champion Cody Garbrandt continued his losing streak as he was knocked out in the first round by Pedro Munhoz. In the women's strawweight bout that folowed, Weili Zhang earned a decision win over Tecia Torres.

Plus, former Bellator champion Ben Askren marked his UFC debut with a submission win over veteran Robbie Lawler. Askren took an early beating, but choked Lawler to keep a perfect record. However, the stoppage looked controversial as referee Herb Dean seemed to have rushed to stop the fight at the 3:20 mark of the first round.

Earlier, in the preliminary card, Johnny Walker and Edmen Shahbazyan had quick finishes in their respective bouts. The pair were not the only ones to earn stoppage wins as Diego Sanchez and Macy Chiasson also won via TKO. Meanwhile, there were decision wins for Zabit Magomedsharipov, Cody Stamann and Hannah Cifers.

Here are the final results of UFC 235:

Main Card

1. Light Heavyweight title bout: Jon Jones defeated Anthony Smith by unanimous decision (48-44, 48-44, 48-44)

2. Welterweight title bout: Kamaru Usman defeated Tyron Woodley by unanimous decision (50-44, 50-44, 50-45

3. Welterweight bout: Ben Askren defeated Robbie Lawler by technical submission (bulldog choke) - Round 1, 3:20

4. Women's Strawweight bout: Weili Zhang defeated Tecia Torres by unanimous decision (29-28, 30-27, 30-27)

5. Bantamweight bout: Pedro Munhoz defeated Cody Garbrandt by knockout (punches) - Round 1, 4:52

Preliminary Card

1. Featherweight bout: Zabit Magomedsharipov defeated Jeremy Stephens by unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

2. Light Heavyweight bout: Johnny Walker defeated Misha Cirkunov by TKO (flying knee, punches) - Round 1, 0:36

3. Bantamweight bout: Cody Stamann defeated Alejandro Perez by unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 30-27)

4. Welterweight bout: Diego Sanchez defeated Mickey Gall by TKO (punches) - Round 2, 4:13

5. Middleweight bout: Edmen Shahbazyan defeated Charles Byrd by TKO (elbows, punches) - Round 1, 0:38

6. Women's Bantamweight bout: Macy Chiasson defeated Gina Mazany by TKO (punches) - Round 1, 1:49

7. Women's Strawweight bout: Hannah Cifers defeated Polyana byna by split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)

ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 Predictions
Match 32 - June 25 2019, 03:00 PM
Predict Now
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Story first published: Sunday, March 3, 2019, 13:00 [IST]
Other articles published on Mar 3, 2019
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Mykhel sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Mykhel website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more