Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X

National Motorcycle Racing Championship: Ahamed leads Petronas 1-2, Rajini Krishnan edges close to title

KY Ahamed

Bengaluru, October 2: KY Ahamed of the Petronas TVS Racing completed a hat-trick of wins in the premier Pro-Stock 301-400cc category even as seasoned campaigner Rajini Krishnan moved within one point of clinching the title after a third-place finish in the fifth and final round of the MRF Madras Motor Sports Club (MMSC) Federation of Motor Sports Clubs of India (FMSCI) National Motorcycle Racing Championshp 2022 at the Madras International Circuit (MIC) in Irungattukottai, near Chennai on Saturday (October 1).

As per a media release received, Petronas TVS Racing's Jagan Kumar notched his second win of the season in the Pro-Stock 165cc Open category, but not before surviving a hectic scramble in the last lap.

Idemitsu Honda SK69 Racing's Rajiv Sethu edged out championship leader Mathana Kumar (Pacer Yamaha) for second place to narrow the points deficit to 14 with one more race to be run on Sunday (October 2) in the FMSCI-sanctioned event.

National Motorcycle Racing Championship: Prabhu Arunagiri, Sarvesh Balappa grab poleNational Motorcycle Racing Championship: Prabhu Arunagiri, Sarvesh Balappa grab pole

Rajini in cruise mode

Rajini in cruise mode

In the Pro-Stock 301-400cc Open race, pole-sitter Ahamed led a 1-2 finish for his team with Deepak Ravikumar in tow, while Rajini Krishnan (RACR Castrol Power1), starting from P4, struggled with a clutch pedal issue, but used his vast experience to good effect and managed to scramble to third position.

The result means that defending champion Rajini needs just one point from Sunday's concluding race to seal his 11th career national title. Ahamed trails the champion by 25 points with Ravikumar in third, a further eight behind.

Rohan leads Axor 1-2

Rohan leads Axor 1-2

Earlier, Coimbatore's Rohan Ramesh fashioned a 1-2 for Axor Sparks Racing in the Novice (Stock 165cc) category ahead of Kayan Zubin Patel (Mumbai) with Vignesh Goud, a privateer from Hyderabad in third.

Hubballi's Sarvesh Balappa, also of Axor Sparks Racing, came in fourth, but he has effectively clinched the title in this category as he leads by 54 points going into Sunday's Race-2.

Rookie Class

Rookie Class

In the Rookie Class of the Petronas Racing One-Make Championship organised by MMSC, Bengaluru's Chiranth Vishwanath posted his ninth win in as many races.

So did Mumbai youngster Raheesh Mudassar Khatri in the Novice (CBR 150) category of the Idemitsu Honda India Talent Cup.

Results (all 6 laps unless mentioned)

Results (all 6 laps unless mentioned)

National Championship

Pro-Stock 301-400cc Open (Race-1):

1. KY Ahamed (Chennai, Petronas TVS Racing) (11min, 20.954secs )

2. Deepak Ravikumar (Chennai, Petronas TVS Racing) (11:21.029)

3. Rajini Krishnan (Chennai, RACR Castrol Power1 Ultimate) (11:22.050).

Pro-Stock 165cc Open (Race-1):

1. Jagan Kumar (Chennai, Petronas TVS Racing) (11:50.902)

2. Rajiv Sethu (Chennai, Idemitsu Honda SK69 Racing) (11:51.067)

3. Mathana Kumar (Tiruchirapalli, Pacer Yamaha) (11:51.308).

Novice (Stock 165cc, Race-1):

1. Rohan Ramesh (Coimbatore, Axor Sparks Racing) (13:00.141)

2. Kayan Zubin Patel (Mumbai, Axor Sparks Racing) (13:02.912)

3. P Vignesh Goud (Hyderabad, Pvt.) (13:04.091).

Support race (Stock 301-400cc, Novice):

1. Ashwin R (Race Abilities) (12:31.762)

2. Naresh Shobha Kaname (Pvt) (12:37.897)

3. Jayanth Prathipati (Pvt) (12:39.376).

Qualifying (best lap, top 3): Girls (Stock 165cc):

1. Ann Jennifer (Chennai, Alpha Racing) (02:08.446) 2. Jagruti Penkar (Mumbai, Axor Sparks Racing) (02:08.399)

3. Ryhana Bee (Chennai, Pacer Yamaha) (02:09.858).

Petronas TVS One-Make Championship: Girls (Apache RTR 200) 5 laps:

1. Nithila Das (Bengaluru) (10:59.765)

2. Ananya Awasthi (Chennai) (11:22.981)

3. Aditi Krishnan (Bengaluru) (11:33.456).

Rookie (Apache RTR 200, Race-1):

1. Chiranth Vishwanath (Bengaluru) (12:46.968)

2. Jinendra K Sangave (Kolhapur) (12:56.733)

3. Abdul Basim RS (Chennai) (13:15.111).

Idemitsu Honda India Talent Cup: NSF 250 Open (Race-1):

1. Sarthak Shrikant Chavan (Pune) (11:15.886)

2. Mohsin Paramban (Malappuram) (11:16.828)

3. Shyam Sundar (Chennai) (11:17.075).

Novice (CBR 150, Race-1):

1. Raheesh Mudassar Khatri (Mumbai) (12:58.554)

2. Harshith V Bogar (Bengaluru) (13:06.690)

3. Siddesh Sawant (Kolhapur) (13:06.845).

Support Race - Honda Hornet 2.0:

1. G Balaji (Chennai) 13:37.031)

2. Kayan Zubin Patel (Mumbai) (13:46.308)

3. T Ramakrishnana (Valliyor) (13:46.649).

For Quick Alerts
Subscribe Now
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts
Read more about: motorsport fmsci mrf rally chennai
Story first published: Sunday, October 2, 2022, 11:50 [IST]
Other articles published on Oct 2, 2022