Get breaking news alerts from myKhel

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X

Asia Cup history - Jayasuriya's feats, India's hat-trick of title wins, a glance at stats

By Karun
Sri Lankas former opener Sanath Jayasuriya has performed some brilliant efforts in the Asia Cup

Bengaluru, September 10: The Asia Cup 2018 is scheduled for a September 15 beginning in UAE and this may be a good occasion to cast an eye to some of the statistical highlights of the tournament that began in 1984 under the aegis of the Asian Cricket Council.

Defending champions India, who also won the inaugural edition of the tournament held in Sharjah, hold the record of maximum number of tournament wins - 6 and followed by Sri Lanka - 5 and Pakistan - 2. Bangladesh have been runners-up in two editions - 2012 and 2016. (FOR MORE INFO: SEE THE TABLE BELOW)

A close look at the Asia Cup numbers

Among the three title winners, India hold the distinction of winning the title in three successive editions - 1988, 1991, 1995 - of the Asia Cup. When it comes to individual performances, Sri Lankans hold the top spot with Sanath Jayasuriya on top of the batsmen's list with 1220 runs. The left-handed opener, who rewrote cricketing equations with his belligerent batting, also hold the record of the most number of centuries in the Asia Cup - 6.

India captain Virat Kohli, who is on a record breaking, run-scoring spree, is third behind former Sri Lankan skipper Kumar Sangakkara (4) with three hundreds. Kohli could have added another hundred to the tally but the Delhiite will not be playing in this Asia Cup.


Here are some records

1. Sri Lankan spin legend Muttiah Muralitharan has grabbed maximum wickets in Asia Cup history - 30 followed by his country man Ajantha Mendis - 26.

2. Mendis also owns the best bowling figure in a match - 6-13 - against India at Karachi in the 2008 edition.

3. Former Sri Lankan opener Sanath Jayasuriya has most number of 100s - 6

4. Former Sri Lankan captain Kumar Sangakkara lies second with 4 hundreds while Kohli has made 3 centuries.

5. In 2014, Afghanistan entered the fray for the first time in the Asia Cup.

6. Jayasuriya is also the leading run-scorer in Asia Cup with 1220 runs.

7. India have won the Asia Cup maximum times (6), followed by Sri Lanka (5) and Pakistan (2).

8. Mahendra Singh Dhoni has the best average (95.16) in the Asia Cup.

9. No Indian batsmen has ever been dismissed for a duck in the Asia Cup ODI format. Sri Lanka holds the record for most ducks (17).

10. In 2016, the Asia Cup was held in the T20 format for the first time.

For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

    Love Cricket? Prove it! Play myKhel Fantasy Cricket here

    Story first published: Monday, September 10, 2018, 14:50 [IST]
    Other articles published on Sep 10, 2018
    We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Mykhel sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Mykhel website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more