Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X

Colombia not Argentina to host 2020 Copa America final

By Pti
Colombia President Ivan Duque announced the nation will host the 2020 Copa America final

Bogota, June 28: Colombia will host the final of the 2020 Copa America they're jointly hosting with Argentina, President Ivan Duque announced.

The South American competition between national teams has never before been hosted by two countries. The final will be played in the Metropolitano stadium in the Caribbean port city of Barranquilla, the local mayor Alejandro Char said, promising a "gala."

It will be the second successive year that the tournament is played as regional governing body CONMEBOL has decided to align the Copa America with the European Championships, to be played every four years and two years apart from the World Cup. Throughout most of its history the Copa America has been played in odd years.

"The 2020 Copa America final will take place in Colombia, which has been one of the greatest desires of all of us," said Duque at a public appearance on Thursday (June 27).

He said CONMEBOL president Alejandro Dominguez had informed him of the "great news." The governing body had decided in April to award hosting rights to the two countries at opposite ends of the continent. Colombia's football federation spoke of its "pride and joy" on its social media channels, promising "a memorable event."

The tournament group stages will be divided into two regions: Colombia, Brazil, Venezuela, Ecuador and Peru playing in the northern zone while Argentina, Uruguay, Chile, Bolivia and Paraguay will face off in the southern zone.

The two guest teams - debutants Australia and Asian champions Qatar - have yet to be assigned to a zone. Four teams from each zone will qualify for the quarter-finals. The current Copa America is ongoing in Brazil and is at the quarter-final stage.

Next year's will be the fourth edition in a five year period following the regular 2015 tournament and the one off Centenario in the United States in 2016.

For Quick Alerts
Subscribe Now
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts
Story first published: Friday, June 28, 2019, 11:59 [IST]
Other articles published on Jun 28, 2019