Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X

Dale Steyn, Chris Morris return to South Africa squad for the first Test against India

By Unnikrishnan
Dale Steyn

Bengaluru, December 29: All-rounder Chris Morris, pacer Dale Steyn and regular skipper Faf du Plessis all returned to South Africa squad for the first Test against India at Cape Town starting from January 5.

Morris has recovered from a groin injury and he has replaced paceman Duanne Olivier in the 15-man squad which is announced only for the first Test.

India tour of South Africa 2018: Here's the full schedule of Test, ODI and T20I series

Both Steyn and Du Plessis had missed the four-day Pink ball Test against Zimbabwe due to viral infection. In the absence of Faf, AB de Villiers led South Africa in the Test against Zimbabwe which the Proteas won inside just two days.

The fitness of Quinton de Kock was in doubt after a hamstring niggle but the selectors have named him in the squad.

South Africa squad: Faf du Plessis (capt), Hashim Amla, Temba Bavuma, Quinton de Kock, Theunis de Bruyn, AB de Villiers, Dean Elgar, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, Morne Morkel, Chris Morris, Andile Phehlukwayo, Vernon Philander, Kagiso Rabada, Dale Steyn.

For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Love Cricket? Prove it! Play myKhel Fantasy Cricket here

Story first published: Friday, December 29, 2017, 16:35 [IST]
Other articles published on Dec 29, 2017
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Mykhel sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Mykhel website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more