Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X

Jasprit Bumrah earns call-up for Tests against South Africa

By Unnikrishnan
Jasprit Bumrah

Bengaluru, December 4: Pacer Jasprit Bumrah has been drafted into Indian Test side that will tour South Africa in January 2018.

Read in Telugu

Virat Kohli will return to lead the squad after taking a break during the one-day and T20I series against Sri Lanka. The first Test against South Africa will take place in Cape Town from January 5.

Jasprit Bumrah at fourth spot in ICC rankings

The national selectors also picked the squad for the T20I series against Sri Lanka and it will be led by Rohit Sharma in the absence of Kohli.

The selectors, under the aegis of chief selector MSK Prasad, picked a 17-member side for the tour of South Africa that consists of three Tests. Wicketkeeper-batsman Parthiv Patel too has been recalled.

Parthiv Patel

Parthiv's last Test was against England at Chennai in December 2016 and he has now picked as a back-up for regular stumper Wriddhiman Saha.

Under Parthiv Patel, defending champions Gujarat made an impressive entry into the quarterfinals of Ranji Trophy without losing a game in the league stages.

The T20I squad for the series against Sri Lanka features three new entrants - Basil Thampi of Kerala, Washington Sundar of Tamil Nadu and Baroda's Deepak Hooda.

Indian team for Tests against SA: Virat Kohli (Captain), M Vijay, KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-capt), Rohit Sharma, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Parthiv Patel, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah.

Team for T20Is against Sri Lanka: Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni, Hardik Pandya, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammad Siraj, Basil Thampi, Jaydev Unadkat.

For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Love Cricket? Prove it! Play myKhel Fantasy Cricket here

Story first published: Monday, December 4, 2017, 20:19 [IST]
Other articles published on Dec 4, 2017
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Mykhel sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Mykhel website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more