Mohun Bagan, East Bengal denied AFC licence; Aizawl, BFC awarded permit

Among eight applicants, only Aizawl FC and Bengaluru FC were awarded the AFC license

New Delhi, November 6: The All India Football Federation denied I-League giants Mohun Bagan and East Bengal the AFC license for the 2017/18 season, and awarded the license to reigning I-League champions Aizawl FC and Bengaluru FC.

Eight clubs -- Aizawl FC, Mohun Bagan, East Bengal, Bengaluru FC, Shillong Lajong FC, Churchill Brothers, Chennai City FC and Minerva Punjab FC -- applied for the AFC and National Licenses for the season 2017-18. The AIFF's Club Licensing Committee -- First Instance Body -- met here on Monday (November 6) and evaluated the applications made by licence applicants for AFC Club Competitions 2017-18.

"After going through the reports, the members of the committee unanimously decided to award the AFC License to Aizawl FC and Bengaluru FC only," the AIFF said in a statement. "The committee further decided to convene another meeting in the near future to decide the results of the applications made by the same clubs for National Club Competitions."

Story first published: Monday, November 6, 2017, 20:16 [IST]
Other articles published on Nov 6, 2017

Get breaking news alerts from myKhel