Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X

WBBL Winners List: The Champions and Runners Up of Women’s Big Bash League

Perth Scorchers lifted the WBBL title in the seventh season (Image Courtesy: Optus Stadium Twitter)

WBBL (also known as Women's Big Bash League) is a domestic women's T20 tournament organised every year since the 2015-16 season by Cricket Australia (CA).

The WBBL tournament, which replaced the Australian Women's T20 Cup that ran from 2007-08 to 2014-15 season, features eight city-based franchises, branded identically to the men's Big Bash League (BBL).

In the eight editions of WBBL held so far, five teams have gone on to lift the title with three teams winning the tournament two times each. Sydney Sixers, Sydney Thunder and Brisbane Heat have won the WBBL title twice, while Perth Scorchers and Adelaide Strikers have won it once.

Sydney Sixers have also reached the finals most, having finished as runners up three times and winner two times (2017-18 & 2018-19) in five final appearances.

The next team with most final appearances is Perth Scorchers and Adelaide Strikers. Both teams have appeared in the finals of WBBL three times so far.

Scorchers won the title in 2021-22 and finished runners up in the first two editions in 2015-16 & 20, while Strikers won the title in 2022-23 season and finished runners up in 2019-20 & 2021-22 season.

The inaugural champions Sydney Thunder won the title in 2020-21, while, Brisbane Heat won in the 2018-19 & 2019-20 seasons. Melbourne Stars also have finished runners up in 2020-21 season.

Melbourne Renegades and Hobart Hurricanes, on the other hand, are the only other teams competing in the WBBL, but they also happen to be the two teams that have never reached a final in the seven editions so far.

Here is a look at the WBBL winners and runners up list from every season so far:

Season Edition Champion Runner Up Final Result
2022-23 WBBL08 Adelaide Strikers Sydney Sixers Strikers won by 10 runs
2021–22 WBBL07 Perth Scorchers Adelaide Strikers Scorchers won by 12 runs
2020–21 WBBL06 Sydney Thunder Melbourne Stars Thunder won by 7 wickets
2019–20 WBBL05 Brisbane Heat Adelaide Strikers Heat won by 6 wickets
2018–19 WBBL04 Brisbane Heat Sydney Sixers Heat won by 3 wickets
2017–18 WBBL03 Sydney Sixers Perth Scorchers Sixers won by 9 wickets
2016–17 WBBL02 Sydney Sixers Perth Scorchers Sixers won by 7 runs
2015–16 WBBL01 Sydney Thunder Sydney Sixers Thunder won by 3 wickets
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts
Story first published: Monday, November 21, 2022, 17:20 [IST]
Other articles published on Nov 21, 2022