Get breaking news alerts from myKhel

Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X

Former BCCI president Shashank Manohar elected unopposed as ICC chairman for second term

By Aravind
Shashank Manohar has been given a two-year extension as the ICC chairman

Dubai, May 15: Shashank Manohar will serve a second term as the independent chairman of the International Cricket Council (ICC) after he was the sole nominee put forward by the ICC Board.

Manohar, who became the first independent ICC Chairman in 2016, will continue for a second two-year term following his unopposed election. During the last two years, Manohar has led significant reform of the sport, reversing the resolutions of 2014, introducing a revised governance structure, including the appointment of the ICC's first independent female director and the development of international cricket structures that bring context to the global game and provide more opportunities for more members to compete.

Commenting on his re-appointment, Manohar said: "It is an honour to be re-elected as the chairman of the International Cricket Council and I would like to thank my fellow ICC directors for their continued support. Together we have made big strides over the last two years, fulfilling promises I made to the sport when I was appointed in 2016.

"Over the next two years, we can look forward to launching a global strategy for the sport in partnership with our members so we can grow the game and ensure more of the world can enjoy cricket. The sport is in good health but we are the guardians of the game and we must continue to work hard to maintain that."

According to the election process, ICC directors were each allowed to nominate one candidate, who had to be either a present or a past ICC director. Nominees with the support of two or more directors would have been eligible to contest an election. However, given that Manohar was the sole nominee for the position, the independent audit committee chairman, Edward Quinlan, who has been overseeing the election process, has declared the process complete, and Manohar the successful candidate.

Manohar also served as the president of the Board of Control for Cricket in India following the death of serving chief Jagmohan Dalmiya in October 2015. He then resigned in May 2016 and handed over the mantle to Anuraj Thakur, the president of the Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association. Thakur had to step aside following the verdict on the Lodha Committee recommendations. CK Khanna is the acting BCCI president now.

Source: ICC press release

For Quick Alerts
Subscribe Now
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

    Love Cricket? Prove it! Play myKhel Fantasy Cricket here

    Story first published: Tuesday, May 15, 2018, 16:57 [IST]
    Other articles published on May 15, 2018
    We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Mykhel sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Mykhel website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more